Not O-Kay!

I have a new co-worker who is several kinds of awesome. We have a lot of things in common and he’s great to hang out with. At first I thought maybe he was gay, since he seemed particularly friendly to me and lord knows that must mean he wants some of the sweet loving stuff, right? Wellll, not exactly. I’ll admit I was a little disappointed, but he’s still awesome and since I’ve sworn off of dating for a while anyway it seemed no big deal.

Everything was fine until a few days ago when I heard from another co-worker that one of our customers had asked the new guy about his orientation, in public, in front of a lot of people and all I could think was “Not okay! Not okay at ALL!” In the middle of my indignation I realized how hypocritical I had been. I’d been discussing him with my friends, some of whom I work with, and realized the difference between talking about it behind his back and asking him face-to-face is small and both are inappropriate in a workplace, even one as extremely casual as ours.

I saw him on Sunday at work and apologized for him being asked so publicly, and in a way apologizing for any discomfort he might end up feeling because of such scrutiny from anybody. I told him, “That’s not a question you should have to answer from anybody. That is nobody’s business but yours.” He laughed it off, so it doesn’t seem to have been a big deal for him but it certainly shed new light on my behaviour!

Leave a Reply

